Golf Phil Mickelson meltdown video at US Open 2018
PHIL Mickelson has finally revealed why he really lost the plot in a moment of madness he might never truly recover from.
Mark CannizzaroNY PostJune 21, 201810:17am
Phil’s birthday meltdown1:44
Golf: Putting for bogey on the 13th, Mickelson misses, and then chases the ball down, and hits it again before it runs down the slope. While the ball is still moving.
- June 17th 2018
- 2 months ago
- /display/newscorpaustralia.com/Web/NewsNetwork/Sport news and galleries/Golf news/
IT’S been four days since Phil Mickelson’s stunning meltdown on the 13th hole of his US Open third round at Shinnecock Hills — and on Wednesday, after some soul-searching, Mickelson says he’s “sorry” for what happened.
“I know this should have come sooner, but it’s taken me a few days to calm down,” Mickelson said.
“My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend. I’m embarrassed and disappointed in my actions. It was clearly not my finest moment and I’m sorry.”
The incident took place Sunday (AEST), when Mickelson was frustrated by the unplayable nature of the pin position on the 13th green and his 18-foot bogey putt rolled past the cup and began to roll off the green. He ran after the ball, which was still moving, and hit it again back toward the hole.
Mickelson was assessed a two-shot penalty for his action and took a 10 on the par-4 to shoot his way further from contention with an 81.
Mickelson, who is seeking a US Open title to become the sixth player in the history of golf to complete the career Grand Slam, has finished runner-up in the event six times, including four times in New York (at Shinnecock in 2004, Winged Foot in 2006 and Bethpage Black in 2002 and 2009).
In the fallout from the incident, Mickelson seemed to add gasoline to a burning tire fire when, instead of articulating that the mounting frustration simply got to him — as he did Wednesday to The Post — he told reporters he knew what he was doing and was taking advantage of the rules.
That slant infuriated golf purists and caused the USGA to deliberate Saturday evening about whether to disqualify him from the tournament.
“Look, I don’t mean disrespect to anybody,” Mickelson said after the incident Saturday. “I know it’s a two-shot penalty. At that time, I just didn’t feel like going back and forth and hitting the shot over. I took the two-shot penalty and moved on. It’s my understanding of the rules. I’ve had multiple times when I’ve wanted to do that. I just finally did.
“It’s meant to take advantage of the rules as best as you can. In that situation, I was just going back and forth. I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display. Sometimes it gets a little goofy, sure … but it’s all within the rules.”
“Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates because — as he said to me — ‘I don’t want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified,’’’ Davis said. “That’s where we clarified that, ‘Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule.’ That’s different than if he had deliberately just stopped the ball or whacked it in another direction or something like that. So it’s just, it’s us applying the rules.”
Mickelson, whose 48th birthday was Saturday, tried to laugh off the calamity for the rest of his round Saturday and, when he parred the 13th on Sunday, did a mock celebration as if he’d just won a tournament, joking afterwards that he won “most improved” on that hole.
“How can you not laugh?’’ he said at the time. “It’s funny.”
As the fallout continued in the last few days, Mickelson clearly came to the realisation that it wasn’t funny and felt compelled to tell the public what he was truly feeling at the time — even though it came four days late.