TSA Pre-Check Adds Nine Additional Airlines

TSA Precheck and Global Entry line

WHY IT RATES: With nine additional carriers added to TSA Pre-check, passengers have more opportunities to use this service when traveling domestically and abroad. —Alex Temblador, TravelPulse Associate Writer

MORE Airlines & Airports

Dreamliner, Air Tahiti Nui

Air Tahiti Nui Launches Brand Nui Day Contest for Travel…

An American Airlines Boeing 777 taking off from Los Angeles International Airport

American Airlines Steps Up Five Star Service at LAX, JFK…

An Air Canada Rouge Airbus A319 landing at LAX

gallery icon

The Best, Worst Budget Airlines for Cheap Flights

The Transportation Security Administration announced the expansion of its TSA Pre-check expedited screening program to nine additional domestic and international carriers. The new partnering airlines are Air India, Asiana Airlines, China Airlines, Eastern Airlines, Elite Airways, EVA Airways, Japan Airlines, TAP Air Portugal, and Volaris. Today’s announcement brings the number of airlines participating in TSA Pre-check to 65 domestic and international carriers.

“I am pleased to welcome these new partners to the TSA Pre-check program,” said Administrator David Pekoske. “By continuing to expand TSA Pre-check, and engaging more and more with our international partners, we are increasing the overall effectiveness of the security we provide, raising the baseline of global aviation security, and improving the passenger experience.”

TSA Pre-check is an expedited screening program that enables low-risk travelers to enjoy a smart and efficient screening experience at more than 200 U.S. airports. For TSA Pre-check travelers, there is no need to remove shoes, laptops, 3-1-1 liquids, belts or light jackets. To date in 2019, nearly 94 percent of passengers in TSA Pre-check lanes waited less than five minutes.

TSA Pre-check is available when departing from a U.S. airport to a foreign country, and for domestic, connecting flights after returning to the U.S. Travelers who are U.S. citizens, U.S. nationals and lawful permanent residents of the U.S. can apply for TSA Pre-check for a cost of $85 for five years, which is $17 per year, through the TSA Pre-check application program. Once approved, travelers will receive a “Known Traveler Number” to input when making an airline reservation and will have the opportunity to utilize TSA Pre-check lanes at select security checkpoints when traveling on any of the 65 participating airlines.

Other passengers who are eligible for TSA Pre-check include members of the three U.S. Customs and Border Protection’s Trusted Traveler programs, Global Entry, NEXUS and SENTRI. TSA Pre-check is also available for U.S. Armed Forces service members, including those serving in the U.S. Coast Guard, Reserves and National Guard. To find the program that best suits your travel needs, use the Department of Homeland Security trusted traveler comparison tool.

Passengers should check for the TSA Pre-check indicator (such as TSAPRECHK, TSA PRE, or TSA Pre-check) on their boarding pass to know if they are eligible for TSA Pre-check on their flight.

TSA Pre-check members who have enjoyed expedited screening since 2013 are now eligible to renew their membership. To keep enjoying TSA Pre-check benefits, individuals may renew up to six months before the membership expiration date. For most members, renewal is easy and may be completed online.

TSA continues to incorporate unpredictable security measures, both seen and unseen, throughout the airport. All travelers will be screened, and no individual will be guaranteed expedited screening.

SOURCE: TSA press release


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *